Division of Nutrition

7th Annual
Postgraduate Nutrition Symposium

The Childhood Obesity Epidemic:
Predictors and Strategies for Prevention

March 16 - 17, 2005
Boston

No Webcast recordings are available for this event.


Introductory Remarks

W. Allan Walker, MD
Conrad Taff Professor of Nutrition
Director, Division of Nutrition, Harvard Medical School
PI, Clinical Nutrition Research Center, Massachusetts General Hospital
allan_walker@hms.harvard.edu


SESSION I: PREDICTORS

Moderator:
Carine Lenders, MD, MS
Boston University School of Medicine

Pediatric Obesity - The Problem

George Bray, MD
Boyd Professor, Louisiana State University
Chief, Division of Obesity and Metabolic Diseases
Pennington Biomedical Research Center
brayga@pbrc.edu

Life Course Approach to Obesity

Matthew W. Gillman, MD, SM
Associate Professor
Department of Ambulatory Care and Prevention
Harvard Medical School/Harvard Pilgrim Health Care
matthew_gillman@hms.harvard.edu

Breast-feeding

Elsie M. Taveras, MD, MPH
Instructor in Ambulatory Care and Prevention, Harvard Medical School
Center for Child Health Care Studies
Department of Ambulatory Care and Prevention
Harvard Pilgrim Health Care
elsie.taveras@childrens.harvard.edu

Infant Feeding

Carine Lenders, MD, MS
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
Chief, Division of Pediatric Nutrition
Boston University School of Medicine
carine.lenders@bmc.org

Infant Growth Studies

Virginia A. Stallings, MD
Deputy Director, Joseph Stokes Research Institute
Director, Nutrition Center, The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
Professor of Pediatrics, The University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine
stallingsv@email.chop.edu


SESSION II: PREDICTORS

Moderator:
Alison Hoppin, MD
Associate Director for Pediatric Programs
Massachusetts General Hospital Weight Center
ahoppin@partners.org

What Approaches Can We Take?

William H. Dietz, MD, PhD
Director, Division of Nutrition and Physical Activity
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
wcd4@cdc.gov

Television/Video Games - Lack of Activity

Steven Gortmaker, PhD
Professor of Society, Human Development and Health
Harvard School of Public Health

Portion Size for Children

Leann L. Birch, PhD
Distinguished Professor of Human Development
The Pennsylvania State University
llb15@psu.edu

Carbohydrates

David Ludwig, MD, PhD
Associate Professor , Harvard Medical School
Director, OWL Program
Division of Endocrinology, Children’s Hospital
david.ludwig@childrens.harvard.edu

European Studies

Berthold Koletzko, MD, PhD
Professor of Pediatrics
University of Munich, Germany
Dr von Hauner Children’s Hospital
claudia.wellbrock@med.uni-muenchen.com


SESSION III: SCIENCE-BASED SOLUTIONS

Moderator:
Matthew Gillman, MD, SM
Harvard Medical School

Physician Intervention

William Sears, MD
Associate Clinical Professor of Pediatrics
University of California, Irvine
thesears@cox.net

Prevention Research in Pediatric Obesity: NIH Perspective

Susan Yanovski, MD
Co-Director, Office of Obesity Research
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
yanovskis@extra.niddk.nih.gov

Childhood Obesity Research: Building Evidence for Action

Tracy Orleans, PhD
Senior Scientist
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
TORLEAN@rwjf.org

CON Recommendations

Nancy F. Krebs, MD, MS
Professor of Pediatrics
Head, Section of Nutrition
The University of Colorado at Denver and Health Sciences Center
nancy.krebs@UCHSC.edu


SESSION IV: INDUSTRY APPROACHES

Moderator:
Matthew Gillman, MD, SM

McDonald's Corporation

Cathy Kapica, PhD, RD
Global Director, Nutrition
McDonald’s Corporation
cathy.kapica@mcd.com

Gerber Products Company

Kathleen Reidy, DrPH, RD
Director, Nutrition Science & Regulatory Affairs
Gerber Products Company
kathleen.reidy@ch.novartis.com

ConAgra Foods Company

Pat Verduin, PhD
Senior Vice-President & Director
ConAgra Food Company
pat.verduin@conagrafoods.com

The Coca Cola Company

Donald Short
Vice-President
The Coca Cola Company
dshort@na.ko.com


SESSION V: GENERAL DISCUSSION

Panel I: Industry

Cathy Kapica, PhD, RD
Kathleen Reidy, DrPH, RD
Donald Short
Pat Verduin, PhD

Panel II: Academia

Lilian Cheung, DSc, RD
Director, Health Promotion & Communication
Department of Nutrition
Harvard School of Public Health
lcheung@hsph.harvard.edu

Alison Hoppin, MD
Associate Director for Pediatric Programs
Massachusetts General Hospital Weight Center
ahoppin@partners.org

Karen Peterson, DSc
Associate Professor of Nutrition and Society, Human Development and Health
Harvard School of Public Health
kpeterso@hsph.harvard.edu

Linda Van Horn, PhD, RD
Professor, Preventive Medicine
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
lvanhorn@northwestern.edu


This Program was Made Possible in Part
Through Unrestricted Grants from:
McNeil Nutritionals, LLC
Gerber Products Company
McDonald’s Corporation
The Beverage Institute for Health and Wellness of The Coca Cola Company
ConAgra Foods Company
Dupont/Solae
Slim-Fast Foods Company
The Dannon Company
Nestle Nutrition Institute
Ross Products Division, Abbott Laboratories, Inc.
The Campbell Soup Company
The Peanut Institute
Wyeth Nutritionals
Conrad Taff Teaching Fund